School of Computing, Science and Engineering – The University of Salford

Image

What more can you ask for ?  Two years of hard work and sacrifice …. and this is the fruit of that labor.  Final year to go after the placement and it’s done…

It was this afternoon 13th of September 2012 when the postman came, dropped the mail to my door and I got three letters.  Two were slightly smaller and one in a bigger brown envelope.  After I flipped it over it said to came from Salford University – CSE Department.  “Well,  I said to myself, could be my transcript for the 2011-2012 school year but when I opened it… it was something else.  It’s when you need 50 quid and you wait and it just comes to you and all you need is to fill-up some forms and the cash will be in your bank account after.  Wahooooo….. well I wished I’d won the lottery but man… 50 quid is 50 quid… it’s not the money though ’cause there was something else along with the cash.  Again I thought it was a scholarship for this Final Year so I won’t have to do a placement to save some more to survive the UK economy… hehehe… but then again it was something else.  I just wished some University or educational institution would notice and would offer me a full-time Masters Degree Scholarship after I finish my final year at Salford University.  But anyway, it was a School Prize Certificate from the Acoustics, Digital Media and Audio Engineering Department.  Wow ! … presented to Evangel Ric Lapore for the outstanding academic performance at Level 5 during the 2011/12 academic year.  Signed by Professor S Vadera – Acting Head of School.  I was speechless … and the letter said,  as you maybe aware each discipline group within the School of Computing, Science and Engineering awards annual prizes for each level of study to the students with the highest Programme Total for that level.  I am pleased to inform you that you have been awarded the Acoustics, Digital Media and Audio Engieering Level 5 prize in recognition of your performance during the last academic year.  Wow !  lastly, it said, on behalf of the whole… no no no… on behalf of the School I would like to congratulate you on your achievement. – Acting Head of School.  Wow !!!

Now, all I can say is Thank you … Thank you… and Thank you … and I would like to specially thank my Professors for this achievement.  If not because of them I won’t be able to achieve this… Sir Paul Sayer thanks a lot,  Sir Dr. Wilfred Darlington thanks a lot,  Ma’am Helen Keegan thank you very much,  Sir Ben Shirley thank you very much, Sir Dr. Jos Hirst thanks very much,  Dr. Phil Duncan thank you, Dr. Bruno Fazenda thank you, Dr. Neil Bruce thanks, Mr. Producer Dave Tolan and Mr. Dave Eustace thank you very much,  Mr. Jose Sarmiento (of the Media Dept.)  thanks for letting me join your post production classes, to Henrrick the man for the studios thank you, to my group mates (Nathan, Jonny & company) and the first batch of the Bsc Professional Sound and Video Technology thank you… to the See TV Team (Kabir, Nick and Derek) thank you and to those I forget to mention and to you who’s reading this thank you.

Without you all I wouldn’t get the opportunity to be invited to talk about Audio Engineering and the Media City UK at SAE Romania, at iAcademy in Makati Philippines and at De La Salle University St. Beniled in the Philippines.  I just hope one day some scholarship for a masters degree will come my way just like that £50 pounds… but all together thank you very much… and I am very proud to accept this from our School of Acoustics, Digital Media and Audio Engineering group.

Hope to see you all again soon… God bless you.

Ric Lapore

7 responses to “School of Computing, Science and Engineering – The University of Salford

  1. That’s brilliant news Ric – well deserved! HUGE CONGRATS!

  2. Ric that’s fantastic – didn’t know you had received the award. Well done, really proud of you!

    • Evangel Ric Lapore

      Thanks very much sir Jos… I think you just guided me to the right degree course. Thanks for all the advises and guidance…

    • Oh sir Jos thanks very much… time flies and I can remember me emailing you about 2-3 years ago… seeking for the right advice and you did have given me the best path in Audio Engineering… thanks very much…

  3. Fantastic news Ric! Was a pleasure working with you, good luck for the future!

Leave a Reply

