Wherever You Will Go (Cover Version) TRIP Single Pinas 2012

Trip is a single cover version of the popular song “wherever you will go” originally by the Calling.  X-Factor contestant Sophie Habibis revived this track last year 2011 and went onto the semi-finals.  One of my favorite tracks really.

Very interesting recording experience (one take on vocals) in one of the sort of recording studio in the Philippines.  Here’s their set-up… a small 6 channel mixer, Chinese clone dynamic mic called Shure SM90A with foam, stand, main out straight to computers built-in micro jack input, Adobe Soundbooth and pair of headphones both me and the “recording engineer” was sharing together.  No headphone mix I was just hearing the distorted backing track.  There was no booth but only floating AMAKAN sort of wall on my left and right and it was open,  every time a customer comes in to inquire I can hear them talking… what happened was.  First I visited the studio inquired about recording… very cheap Php 300 only… that’s about £4.41 for an hours recording session, I have to give them a list of my songs (4 songs) and after three days they got back to me and said  it was ready as they have to download the backing track from the net (3 days to download 4 backing tracks)  and this is what I got.

Well,  this was my own version of mix and master.  I don’t have anything with me just my laptop, in-ear phones, take note in-ear phones costing about £10 in UK, cubase sx, and the stems on mp3 they gave me.  While I was recording they had a hard time adjusting the levels as it was distorting on my headphones, nobody knows what’s what… and I couldn’t even hear myself just the backing track.  Anyway, I guess soundbooth was capturing my vocals uncompressed WAV but the engineer funnily converts  my takes into 128-bit mp3’s… I don’t know why but I am super surprised of how he processes my audio.  I told him save them on WAV files I want my copies on WAV files for the stems but then He doesn’t know so I left it with him. He said, in the meantime sir we will covert them to mp3’s then when I mix it and burn we will convert them to WAV Files… so, if you know what I’m talking about then you be the judge.

Good news the next day all four songs were ready… I was excited to take a listen and came down to the studio.  I listened first to this track… OMG… my vocals were playing in advance than the backing track… a NO NO NO … in recording… I did sing it in time but their mixdown had timing issues.  So, this is why I was forced to mix and master it myself using the limited tools I have.  Well, here it is folks… my simple TRIP version of the Callings “Wherever You Will Go”… hope you enjoy my story…

WHEREVER YOU WILL GO

by The Calling (Lyrics)

So lately, been  wondering
Who will be there to take my place
When I’m gone, you’ll need love
To light the shadows on your face

If a greater wave shall fall
And fall upon us all
Then between the sand and stone
Could you make it on your own?

If I could, then I would
I’ll go wherever you will go
Way up high or down low
I’ll go wherever you will go

And maybe I’ll find out
A way to make it back someday
To watch you, to guide you
Through the darkest of your days

If a great wave shall fall
And fall upon us all
Well then I hope there’s someone out there
Who can bring me back to you

If I could, then I would
I’ll go wherever you will go
Way up high or down low
I’ll go wherever you will go

Run away with my heart
Run away with my hope
Run away with my love

I know now, just quite how
My life and love might still go on
In your heart, in your mind
I’ll stay with you for all of time

If I could, then I would
I’ll go wherever you will go
Way up high or down low
I’ll go wherever you will go

If I could turn back time
I’ll go wherever you will go
If I could make you mine
I’ll go wherever you will go
I’ll go wherever you will go

9 responses to “Wherever You Will Go (Cover Version) TRIP Single Pinas 2012

  1. I believe you. Trust your ears, not the gears. But It could also be that you were simply born a real singer.

  2. awesome cover man, its well mixed and well sang

  3. Nice, nong! 🙂 regards!

  4. your a pro now man… can you teach me how to play guitar i want to learn will you.

  5. Ron Ricohs a pro guitar player… he’s also a singer… from Ireland…

Leave a Reply

